Smith & Wesson M&P SHIELD 9mm ‒ 180021

Smith & Wesson M&P SHIELD 9mm ‒ 180021

Price
Value
Quality
81 Review(s)

In stock

Regular Price: $ 379.99

Special Price $ 319.99

Add To:

Customer Reviews

Only registered users can write reviews. Please log in or register

Items 1 to 10 of 81 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 9
My Third M&P Shield Review by Leon
Quality
Price
Value

I have three M&P 9mm Shields. I have a great Performance Center Shield that I bought 18 months ago. It was my CCW, but it had a thumb safety. I then bought a 9mm Shield from PSA without a thumb safety. I like it very much - S&W advertised a 6.5 pound trigger. This Shield has a 9 pound trigger pull. I thought the deal on Shields was too good to pass up and ordered a 9mm with thumb safety at the end of June from PSA to take advantage of the price of $199.99 which can't be beat. I took the Shield to a gunsmith who tested the trigger pull. He could not get it to register as his device only went to 12 lbs of pull. He estimates the pull to be between 12 and 13 lbs. He said he would not be able to overcome a pull that strong. I have not shot the weapon. I will call Smith & Wesson tomorrow and see if they can send me different springs. If that fails I will have to get an APEX solution. That negates the savings. I have total confidence with Palmetto State Armory and have bought four pistols from them, as well as magazines and cases of ammo. They are not responsible for a S&W product that advertises a 6.5 lb. trigger and has a 12 to 13 lb. trigger. PSA is a great company. I will continue to purchase items from them!

(Posted on 7/9/2017)

Started out great Review by patrick
Price
Value
Quality

Received pistol pretty quick from Palmetto.
Price with rebate was great.
After cleaning the pistol I took it to the range.
I fired 150 rounds with out any problems.
When I got home to clean the pistol the slide would not come off.
I called Smith and Wesson and they sent me a label to send the pistol back
Pretty annoying that my brand new gun had to go back after first range session.
I really like the way the gun shoots so I hope I will be able to trust it after repair.
I will repost after I get gun back from Smith and Wesson and run another 2 hundred rounds thru it.

(Posted on 7/8/2017)

I stumbled onto a jewel Review by Gary
Value
Quality
Price

The price made for a quick sale. The reviews were mostly good but several negs had me only mildly concerened. This is a fantastic deal on an excellent pistol. The clip spring is already easier to compress. The slide is only a bit stiff. Man hands have no issues with these afforementioned strong springs. I wanted a carry pistol that I would actually carry that was a little beafier than my very convenient LCP. I wanted my edc to have tritium sights so I was worried about the install of the Ameriglo SW-745 already on order. A brass punch set from tractor sply and a four lb. sledge tapped them right out and in with the four folds of electrical tape serving as a keeper for the spring I was warned about on the right side of the rear sight. Out to the right and in from the left was good advice. I told every one I could about this deal and could not believe the sale went on for so long. The ext. clip is great at the range and the 7 rnd. is an ealy carry. Very Happy!

(Posted on 7/6/2017)

Unreal value for the price Review by Scott
Value
Quality
Price

I had to have the Shield for the $199.99 price point after rebate. I was not expecting to choose the Shield over my XDS for carry, but the Shield is lighter, thinner, and just felt better in my hands. I had an issue of activating the slide lock on my XDS if I was not careful, but I have no issues with the Shield. The Shield is now my EDC handgun of choice. Combined with my Alien Gear IWB holster, the combo is hard to beat.

(Posted on 7/5/2017)

Great deal after rebate but would've been disappointed that I paid full price Review by James
Value
Quality
Price

What a deal for $199 after rebate. But there are a couple of things that I'm not crazy about first of all the magazines are ridiculously hard to load and when I compare the recoil to my Walther PPS which is very Close in size and weight it definitely has more recoil. Had I not got this on sale and had the rebate I would've been disappointed but for the price that I paid I can't complain that much.

(Posted on 7/3/2017)

M&P Shield 9 and 45 Review by Gerry
Value
Quality
Price

Back from the Range and I have to say, for the money and concealment I got me a gem. Both weapons functioned flawless. Basic S&W box with no frills. You get 2 Magazines, a lock and manual. That's it. Now cool plastic box.
Anyway, I worked the 9mm a little harder than the .45 because it will be my wife's CCW. I ran 4 boxes (200 Rounds) through it without a hitch. Gun ran as I wanted it to. Felt good for a single stack and extremely accurate. Still a slight issue with the tight spring and useless slide release. You will have to just charge the weapon after a Mag change. You really should be doing that in combat anyway. Maybe the spring will eventually loosen up but, it's not enough for me to condemn the gun. The .45 was a beast but not as much recoil as I expected. It too was accurate and I was actually able to work the slide release with my thumb. If I were in a combat situation and sweaty then forget it. Trigger is crisp and feels good on the finger on both guns. I have to give the Shield big marks for concealment, very clear sights and accuracy. Also, ease of take down and cleaning. I am on the border about that spring. Overall, I'm impressed with the performance of the small but accurate gun. Honestly, my only issue is I should have purchased two of each.

(Posted on 7/2/2017)

Fabulous Price Review by Jason
Price
Value
Quality

Absolutely STELLAR price....picked this up for $199.99 after MIR. Can't beat it with the $45 off that S&W gave on this site. Shipping was amazing, ordered on Sunday, picked up at my local FFL on Friday!!

(Posted on 7/1/2017)

Love this MP Shield 9mm Review by Patrick
Price
Value
Quality

Quick shipping.....Great price!!! Awesome pistol......SO I BOUGHT 2...LOL....

(Posted on 7/1/2017)

Clinton stock? Review by Thorpesby
Quality
Price
Value

This must have been left over pre-election Clinton stock! I wasn't in the market for a new carry gun, but couldn't pass up this deal. I went to my local FFL to see if they could price match PSA and I got laughed at. So, I watched my favorite you tubers for a review and made the purchase. What a sweet gun! Nice trigger, feels good in the hand, easily concealable with my galco king tuck. So nice to shoot that I purchased bulk ammo for some range time. I'm sure Clinton and the "snowflakes" are upset about this deal!

(Posted on 6/30/2017)

Great for the Price Review by Gregg
Value
Quality
Price

Bought one Dec 2016 for $379 for my 83yo Reverend friend who felt he needed to start carrying.
That was cheapest I could find then, though saw it $349 a month earlier.
I did not want/nor need one as I have a PT111 I love and has been flawless for 800+ rounds, but I
could not turn down $199.99 after free shipping, $75 rebate and free FFL thru my club.
Have not shot mine, but liked shooting my friend's.

Note about tight Mags, any good mag should be tight when new. I just loaded my new ones w/ my UpLULA mag loader and had no problem (worth the $25 on sale).
I usually leave them loaded a week to 'condition' the spring.

As for Slide lock not being a true slide release like on every pistol I have (7) - contrary to an earlier snide comment from AZHTfreak to us "Dufi's" re: it being a 'non-issue' - it IS an issue for those of us that normally close our slides w/ that release.
I like using the slide release as I can keep the firearm on target with both hands gripping the firearm when I release the slide with my thumb, instead of taking my grip support hand off the grip, yanking back on the slide, which takes the pistol off target, then putting my hand back on the grip and then putting the pistol back on target; seems like an unnecessary and time consuming step to me.
Some may say that this assures a clean round feed/chamber and close of the action; which may be true.
I have yet to have a jam by closing the slide w/ seated round by releasing just the slide release.
Obviously we will have to learn the slide rack technique with this pistol, just surprised M&P needed to be different.

(Posted on 6/30/2017)

Items 1 to 10 of 81 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 9

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register