PTAC 16" Mid-length 5.56 NATO 1:7 Phosphate Rifle Kit - 7778970

PTAC 16" Mid-length 5.56 NATO 1:7 Phosphate Rifle Kit - 7778970

Price
Value
Quality
24 Review(s)

In stock

Regular Price: $ 449.99

Special Price $ 339.99

Add To:

Customer Reviews

Only registered users can write reviews. Please log in or register

Items 1 to 10 of 24 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
one flaw, took a bit to fix Review by Collins Customs
Price
Value
Quality

that title was a pun, the kit was great. The one part that "took a bit to fix" was the takedown lug on the upper, it was bent as if it was dropped on a hard surface, making the hole too small for the pin to go through. A second or 2 with the proper drill bit (bit, get it?) fixed that real quick. I'll post results once the rifle has been fired but I have no reason to have low expectations - so far everything I've gotten from PSA has been excellent for the money. Even my friends expensive billet JL Billet upper had the same tolerance issue with the takedown lug so dont judge too harshly on that minor point, I dont.

(Posted on 7/31/2016)

Great! Review by Ben
Value
Quality
Price

This was my first ar build. Had no experience with ar's previous to this build, and was on a budget. I built it on an Anderson lower, it went together easily. I put irons on and headed to the range, so far it has performed very well. My brother in law is a former marine and was so impressed with it he built a twin to it. To be fair I'm more of a handgun kinda guy, but with the irons I was still grouping 1.5 to 2 inch at 70yd. There were a few minor "rubs" in the finish, but again it was a budget build and mental to use. I would not hesitate to order another. Two thumbs up to PSA, great stuff!

(Posted on 7/4/2016)

You get what you pay for. Review by Randy
Value
Quality
Price

Decent quality, cheap price. Good beginner, or truck gun.

(Posted on 6/23/2016)

Hand grip Review by Joel
Value
Quality
Price

I see quite a few comments regarding the hand grip, and folks' frustration in mounting it on a brand of lowers that aren't PSA. I found out the hard way--the "other brand" lower receiver isn't compatible (usually) with PSA provided hand grip. I have in a few cases mounted it with no problem, and other times, no matter what I try it just won't fit.
My recommendation is to either spend the few extra bucks for the PSA lower or buy a more universal type hand grip. If you look through the bottom of the hand grip you'll see a number or a combination of number and letters, these are the type that will fit the "Anders---" lower.
The PSA provided handgrip is usually blank or will have a circle next to the hole.
But other than that it's a pretty reasonable price for the casual shooter.

(Posted on 6/11/2016)

Great deal for the money Review by Dxr
Price
Value
Quality

Ordered this for my first rifle build with an Anderson lower. Everything went together easily, and functions flawlessly. The only complaints i can make is there is no rear sight, and the Grip/Buttstock both feel pretty cheap, but thats to be expected with a budget build.

(Posted on 6/7/2016)

3RD Trouble Free Build Review by Michael
Value
Quality
Price

Fast shipping, quality parts, and great customer service will always make me a return customer. This was my 3rd build using PSA parts on an Anderson lower, and it was as advertised. In less than an hour, I was test firing the rifle on my 125 yard range. With a temporary scope mounted, I got less than 2" groups using several different loads, including factory and reloaded ammo.
My Grandson has asked for his own AR for his birthday in July, and I already have a new PSA stainless kit in the shop to help him build his own gun.
Keep up the good work, PSA!!!

(Posted on 5/30/2016)

Great quality budget kit or base for battle rifle: Review by Joshua
Price
Value
Quality

The build kit came quickly and as described. I've since put a couple hundred rounds through it with no issue. I wanted to build another battle rifle since my first was being held by the police after a fatal home defense situation I was in. I've since upgraded the furniture and buffer and put a low profile gas block one it with backup sights and a red dot main sight. Be advised, the gas block roll pins in this gas block are really in there, I've replaced several gas block on PSA uppers and two I've had to admit defeat on and take to a gunsmith. Not a problem with the quality at all though. I recommend this kit to all my friends trying to do an entry level AR.

(Posted on 3/31/2016)

Great kit Review by Patrick
Value
Quality
Price

Item description States duty ready possible finish blems no need to worry at least in my case came in perfect did have a slight problem with the grip bolt being a tad long but easy fix and is a common problem with In my experience shipping was supper fast ordered on Friday arrived in less than a week palmetto state armory contines to surprise me don't believe the negative reviews trust me second kit I've ordered and yet to have a issue and guys this is a hell of a lot of gun for the money

(Posted on 3/30/2016)

Great Value Review by Craig
Price
Value
Quality

Purchased this upper & a "blemished" PSA stripped lower for my first AR build. First off, everything arrived quickly. I'll give kudos to PSA for warning that delivery times could be long, but I had everything for my build in under a week.

This upper arrives double boxed. You remove the outer heavy cardboard box to reveal a heavier internal cardboard box lined with thicker egg crate foam than some rifle cases have. More kudos to PSA for ensuring that your upper arrives undamaged.

The phosphate finish on this upper is done well. It is smooth, thick & even and I personally love the flat black look that phosphate has. You don't have to baby the phosphate finish on this one. If you don't hit it or grind at it with hard metal, you aren't going to damage it.

All of the mechanicals shipped with a light coat of oil which I left on for the build & the first firing. There's enough lubrication there to prevent rusting & to prevent metal on metal grinding during operation, but not so much that it's messy or presents a hazard to operation.

In less than hour of actual work, I had the lower built and the upper mated to the lower. The fit is fantastic. No wiggle, no play and no fighting to line them up. Installed my rear iron sights and took her to the range.

Using IMI 62 gr M855, operation was flawless and once I adjusted the sights was achieving 1 inch groups @ 50 yards. 200 rounds through it with zero failures and good accuracy.

This is a great rifle kit for the money and I couldn't be more pleased with the value of this PSA product. Thank you PSA for providing your customers with excellent value for their dollar spent. Any upgrades to this AR or the next higher end AR will come from PSA also.

Note for first time AR builders: If you have a minimum of mechanical skill, you can build your own stripped lower. There aren't instructions in the kit, but there are a plethora of videos on YouTube that walk you through the process. The task can be accomplished without specialty tools on your dining room table, but after my experience, I strongly recommend purchasing a pivot pin install tool. It costs less than $10 and will keep you from the frustration of searching your house or shop for that detent pin & spring you just lost control of and launched across the house. Other tools you might consider are a decent set of punches for installing the roll pins, but a nail set will work if you have one of those and a brass hammer, a regular hammer will work, but you need to cover the head with something that won't mar your finish. I had leather scrap available so covered my hammer head with it. It worked, but the brass hammer would have been easier.

(Posted on 2/28/2016)

YOU CAN GO WRONG Review by AR JUNKY
Price
Value
Quality

Been shopping on line for awhile, put several AR's together. This PTAC rifle kit is your best bang for your buck. Don't get me wrong its not the top end kit but it's well worth the money. The quality you get for the cost leads me to believe their are allot of other brands out there that are over priced. The trigger in my opinion is as good as high end kits. It has a city slicker pull but is smooth. If my wife doesn't use one of my builds on me I will do another.
Thanks PSA for selling a quality product at fare price.

(Posted on 2/27/2016)

Items 1 to 10 of 24 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register