DAILY DEAL Exp. 3/22, 12pm EST
PSA 10.5" 5.56 NATO 1/7 Nitride Classic Shockwave Pistol Kit, Black - 5165449715

More Views

PSA 10.5" 5.56 NATO 1/7 Nitride Classic Shockwave Pistol Kit, Black - 5165449715

In stock

Regular Price: $ 509.99

Special Price $ 279.99

Quick Overview

free shipping Free Shipping applies to this item only and not the entire order.

It is the customer's responsibility to be aware of all applicable laws and regulations regarding the purchase and ownership of uppers with a barrel length of less than 16". Federal NFA regulations are applicable to this item.

SKU: 5165449715
UPC: 5165449715
MFR#: 5165449715
  • 10.5" Barrel Length
  • Carbine Gas System
  • Nitride Treated Barrel
  • 5.56 NATO Chamber
  • 1 in 7" Twist Rate
  • PSA Standard Handguards, Black
  • F-Marked Front Sight Post
  • A2 Flash Hider 
  • Forged Upper Receiver
  • Carpenter 158 BCG & Charging Handle
  • Classic Shockwave Pistol Lower Build Kit, Black

Add To:

Barrel: Nitride treated chrome-moly barrel. Chambered in 5.56 NATO, with a 1:7 twist, M4 barrel extension, and a carbine-length gas system. Barrel is is finished off with a classic black carbine-length handguard, F-Marked gas sight base, and A2 flash hider.

Upper: Forged 7075-T6 A3 AR upper is made to MIL-SPECS and hard coat anodized black for durability. These uppers are made for us right here in the USA by a mil-spec manufacturer.

Lower Build Kit:  PSA Classic Shockwave Pistol lower build kit with KAK Industries Shockwave Blade, KAK industries Shockwave Buffer Tube, carbine latch plate, and classic fire control group.

SKU: 5165449715
SKU 5165449715
Brand Palmetto State Armory
Daily Deal Yes
Daily Deal Expires 3/22
Youtube Video No
Free Shipping? Yes
Free Shipping Qty Label No
Free Shipping Qty No
SKU: 5165449715

Questions and Answers

Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 70 questions Browse 70 questions and 181 answers
do you put the gun together yourself ?
Yvngin on Nov 22, 2018
BEST ANSWER: your momma puts it together
No mention of BCG, Assuming it's not included, why not mention that?
Chris G on Dec 1, 2018
BEST ANSWER: It does mention a BCG
Is the BCG and Charging Handle included? I ask as it's listed down on the description but they are not pictured.

"Carpenter 158 BCG & Charging Handle"
rdinatal on Nov 29, 2018
BEST ANSWER: they're clearly in the upper pictured
What is the total length after assembly?
Badsman67 on Jan 8, 2019
BEST ANSWER: That will depend on where you set your shockwave brace. To keep it in a pistol configuration. Keep under 26 inches overall length. Of longer it will be. Classified as any other weapon.
Can the handguard,front sight, flash hider be changed if choose to down the road after i get it?
Chuck on Nov 22, 2018
BEST ANSWER: Yes, just like a carbine or rifle length upper.
Is the BCG nitride treated or phosphate finished?
Chris P. Bacon on Nov 25, 2018
BEST ANSWER: phosphate
It has the red warning ....do I need a special permit from ATF? Or is it just considered a pistol?
J D on Dec 31, 2018
BEST ANSWER: This is classified as a "pistol," so no tax stamp is needed. The warning is there to remind you that it is only a pistol if built with a pistol brace instead of a buttstock; adding a buttstock to the kit will make it a short barreled rifle, which does require a tax stamp.
How long is this handguard? I want to replace it when I build the kit, and I want to know if it's a carbine length handguard.
Gideon M on Dec 13, 2018
BEST ANSWER: Description says “carbine gas system”, thus carbine length handguard.
Is the bolt carrier group chrome lined?
Kevin Collins on Jan 4, 2019
BEST ANSWER: do you mean the barrel? no, mag phosphate(parkerized)
What kind of pistol do most people use with this kit? Thank you
Joey T on Jan 10, 2019
BEST ANSWER: This kit is an ar15 (pistol) you just need a stripped lower to assemble the kit on to it
Does this need anything more than a stripped lower to build?
Frank on Nov 26, 2018
BEST ANSWER: Just a lower and whatever rear sight you want to put on it.
Does the upper come fully assembled, or will I need a full tool kit?
Steve F on Feb 1, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Comes fully assembled, plug and play.
Legal without federal stamp?
Alabama on Jan 31, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Being as this is a pistol kit, if assembled with the accompanying equipment and NOT a carbine butt stock, this build would constitute a pistol. It also must be installed on a stripped semiautomatic or "pistol" designated lower that was not a rifle at the time of manufacture. Check local jurisdiction to ensure legality beforehand, ATF has the most up to date federal guidance.
Is the barrel chrome lined?
Cody T on Nov 5, 2018
BEST ANSWER: No. Nitride
Is there an accessory rail on the handgaurd?
J F on Oct 31, 2018
BEST ANSWER: No, but the handguard can be replaced with a free float tube and a free float hanguard.
Do I need a lower that is registered as a pistol?
Jd M on Jan 26, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Ask the place of business when you buy one usually it’s clasified as open so you can build either
The quad rail I bought is 10in free float with .750 end cap. Will this work? Will the flash suppressor will be right against the rail?
Andrew b on Feb 6, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Enter an answer to this question.The quad rail I bought is 10in free float with .750 end cap. Will this work? Will the flash suppressor will be right against the rail?
This will handle the .223 rounds also ??
Joseph S on Dec 31, 2018
BEST ANSWER: Yes
DOES IT COMES WITH COMPLETE BOLT SYSTEM?
Manuel L on Feb 26, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Yes, it comes with everything except a stripped lower receiver.
Can I use this kit with a Anderson AR-15 lower? Or, does it have to be a pistol lower? This will be my first build.
Brian C on Feb 16, 2019
BEST ANSWER: The only difference between the pistol lower is that it cannot have been registered previously as a rifle, and no butstock only a fixed brace
Can this kit, w/o lower, be sold and shipped to California?
Baumer64 on Jan 28, 2019
BEST ANSWER: It can be shipped, just not assembled. Many of these parts are not California compliant, and would need to have California Compliant parts purchased to suppliment the build.
Is the barrel material 4150 CMV or 4140?
allokayjm 2 on Mar 2, 2019
Using a mbus flip up sight do I need a riser on the rail?
Marvin J on Jan 30, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Mbus will work with out a riser. The front sight on the kits I've got had/ has the standard "F" marked site tower/gas block. A great kit by the way!
Does this kit include trigger guard?
MarqW on Mar 6, 2019
BEST ANSWER: YES IT DOES. I BUILT ONE OF THESE KIT'S AND MY WIFE AND I TOOK IT TO THE RANGE WE WERE HITTING A 12IN PLATE AT A HUNDRED YARDS. THE RIFLE WORKED FLAWLESS. CAN'T WAIT TO BUILD A SECOND ONE.
Is the rail on the upper a standard picatinny?
Billy B on Feb 22, 2019
BEST ANSWER: It is a mil-spec upper so it will be compatible with all accessories.
WILL THE BARREL FIT A LOWER AR15 ,RIFLE?
THOMAS F on Feb 6, 2019
BEST ANSWER: This is a complete pistol upper that will fit on any standard ar15 lower receiver. If you are curious about sbr laws I would advise checking your local legalities first.
i own a ruger 556,will this upper fit my lower?
mario r on Mar 2, 2019
BEST ANSWER: As long as you have a mil spec lower with a pistol brace and you make sure it’s not registered as a rifle you will be fine.
Does it come with all parts? You just put it together?
TexasStebe on Feb 9, 2019
BEST ANSWER: You still need to order the lower receiver but everything else is included in the kit
If I have an ar w/ a 16” barrel already and I get a 10.5 kit do I need to reregister my lower or can I just put the kit on my current lower ?
Mike R on Mar 17, 2019
BEST ANSWER: legally speaking, the lower on your 16" build is a "rifle" so you'd have to SBR it. you are probably better off getting a new lower and building the pistol build with the 10.5" kit.
Is this a full kit with no other parts needed?
JimBob on Feb 17, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Need a rear sight, magazine, and lower to make it functional.

Reviews

4.8 / 5.0
104 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
92
6
2
2
2
Quality control issues
So I bought a kit and I tried to upgrade the handguards to a freefloated MLOK style and thats where the problems started the gunsmith. The barrel nut was over-torqued, so to get that off it required a dremel. the barrel was taken out to inspect and guess what, it didnt fit back in the upper, the gunsmith tried multiple barrels but none of them fit. Im not a gun snob and I understand people make mistakes but I ended up having to buy another complete upper so I hope to speak to a cs representative so we can resolve all the issues i had with the kit.
March 19, 2019
It looks good i havent shot it yet thank yall
March 19, 2019
I love it. Good quality and a great price.
March 18, 2019
Purchased
1 month ago
First build.
This is my first build. The upper fit the lower I had without issue. The lower parts kit was baged into groups. This made for an easy install. The parts were covered in a thin layer of oil. This costing was easy to remove before assembly. I will be buying another in the future.
User submitted image
User submitted image
March 17, 2019
Beware of front sight post
Returned it the same day I received it! Front sight is canted to the left!!! Poor quality!!!!!
March 17, 2019
Purchased
1 month ago
“Heat” ar pistol build.
Upper functioned flawlesssly right out of the box.
I changed out the blade for the SBA3 and I love it.
I upgraded to the SBA3 Brace for my pistol and I love it.
I upgraded to the SBA3 Brace for my pistol and I love it.
March 17, 2019
Purchased
1 month ago
Awesome value!
Awesome upper! It for super tight to my lower, and shot great right out of the box. Awesome for an SBR, and I have the pistol kit still, if I ever want to switch from an SBR. Overall I'm very happy with the fit, finish and overall quality from PSA. I'll continue to buy their products.
User submitted image
Added Mar 16, 2019
March 17, 2019
High quality ... questionable Q.C. (Still love it)
This isnt my first interaction with PSA. I've built 3 guns using their stuff.
For the most part... Love their s***.
Now this upper came to me priced excellently and looking beautiful and it does shoot reliably.
There were 2 issues though.

1: The gas key on the bolt was staked kind of poorly.
Which I could live with.

2: the front sight was canted to the right a good bit.

So I shrug my shoulders contact PSA and they send me a shipping label. About 10-11 days later I get my upper back.
There's NO paperwork on the repairs.
I admit they did email me and tell me what was done but no report for my records. A little upsetting but again... I can totally live with it.
Now I take my upper and pop it on a PSA lower and replace the rather good quality clam shell handguards with a drop in rail. Now it's very very VERY slight... but that sight it still off to the right.
This time it is at least within correctable range of the rear sight.
But... goodbye ability to co-witness.

I really just want to enjoy my gun and am probably going to deal with it and use only my red dot until I can afford a lo-pro gas block and a free float tube.

Again... it does shoot straight... it does appear to be very high quality materials and workmanship. The people that helped me in their service department were quick with responding and very helpful/polite. But quality control could definately benefit from taking an extra step and really checking sight alignment before these things leave their facility and get into customer hands.
I cant really complain because the price was magically good and their service was great.
And they did fix it for the most part and it's technically usable. But co-witnessing requires a dead on sight. So maybe that's me being picky?
But I did have to drop a star.

I will still be buying from palmetto in the future. But I will probably stick to free-floated stuff.
Front sight/gas block canted to the right pretty bad.
Moved back to show entire weapon.
March 16, 2019
Purchased
1 month ago
Response from Palmetto State Armory
We do apologize for that. Since all of our parts and firearms are covered by our Lifetime Warranty, if you have any issues arise from the craftsmanship of the product, we can either have select parts sent to you for you to replace, or we can have the item brought in, at no cost to you, so we can repair or replace the defective product. Please contact Customer Service so we may resolve this issue.
March 19, 2019
Casey S
Great Deal Great Gun
Love my little 10.5. I had never put a AR together like this kit despite having 10 other ARs. I didn’t do model card when I was a kid and model guns didn’t seem like a fit for me. I just couldn’t pass this up at this price. Maybe if I find ither great deals at PSA I will continue to build more.
#1 of ?
#1 of ?
March 15, 2019
Purchased
1 month ago
I recomend this to anyone who wants an ar that doesn't break the bank.
Love this kit!!!! Perfect for home defence or a truck gun. For the price it's the best ar pistol that can be purchased.
User submitted image
User submitted image
User submitted image
March 15, 2019

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed